Congratulations 2022 McGuffey Award Honorees!

The CASB McGuffey Award honors unique board members who bring committed and passionate service to their board work. Every district has the opportunity to submit one board member each year. Honorees were recognized at CASB’s Fall Regional Meetings. It takes just a small amount of your time for a worthy recognition.

Region 1
Jessica Filla
Akron R-1

Jason Glenn
Lone Star #101

Harold Jefferson
Arickaree School
District R-2

Christa Lousberg
Fleming School District

Melissa Smits
Morgan County Re-3

Linda Thorpe
Buffalo School District

Jessica Towns
Idalia RJ-3

Region 2 
Doug Purdy
Agate 300


Region 3
James Sanchez
Trinidad #1 


Region 4
Michelle Bettger
Weld Re-8

Pam Howard
Thompson R2-J

Michael Wailes
Weld RE-5J

Region 5
Laura Mitchell
Adams 12 Five
Star Schools

Greg Piotraschke
School District 27J

Region 6
Tiffiney Upchurch
Lewis-Palmer #38

Joyce Salazar
Harrison 2

Region 7
Bob Logan
South Routt School
District RE-3

Chris Thome
Moffat County RE-1

Region 8
Jeannie Peters
Salida R-32-J

Region 9
Kara Brittain
Creede School District

Region 10 

Region 11
Dan Burke
Delta County 50J

Eric Kelley
Montrose County

Region 12
Yvonne Chapman
Ignacio 11-JT

Pam Coppinger
Mancos Re-6

Tim Hunter
Mancos Re-6

Sheri Noyes

Sheri Wright


Previous McGuffey Honorees

2022 McGuffey Award Honorees
2021 McGuffey Award Honorees
2020 McGuffey Award Honorees
2019 McGuffey Award Honorees
2017 McGuffey Award Honorees

Consider the following when choosing a board member for this prestigious award:

  • How has the board member been actively and positively engaged in the work of the board?
  • What actions have you seen indicating the board member has gone above and beyond in their role and responsibilities?
  • How has the board member actively served the community?
  • What major milestone has the board member accomplished?
  • How has the board member demonstrated their focus on serving all children in the district?
  • What positive influence has the board member had on fellow board members?
  • What professional development activities relating to the work of the board has the member continuously been active in attending?
  • How has the board member continued to engage in advocacy efforts for the district?

First published in 1836, the McGuffey Readers were a series of seven books with stories and poems that taught reading and grammar to students as well as help them develop good character qualities. It was one of the most widely used and influential textbooks of its time in transferring knowledge and the virtues required to fulfill the responsibilities of citizenship in a free society.