CCSBA logo

The Colorado Council of School Board Attorneys (CCSBA) is composed of attorneys representing the 178 school districts throughout Colorado. The Council strives to provide a statewide forum for the discussion of practical legal problems facing local school districts and to promote the exchange of legal information and analysis among school attorneys. CCSBA offers a variety of continuing education programs, networking opportunities, and legal resources.

Primary Objectives

  • Identify current legal problems of concern to those who advise school boards

  • Disseminate legal information and analysis to members

  • Promote the exchange of legal information and analysis among members

  • Provide a state forum for the consideration of practical and professional problems faced by school attorneys

  • Promote a closer and more understanding relationship between school attorneys and their client school board members and the Colorado Association of School Boards



CCSBA membership is open to any attorney representing a school district which is a member of the Colorado Association of School Boards. 


If you are interested in joining CCSBA as a new member, please contact Mikayla Unruh to complete the registration process.


Monthly Roundtables

CCSBA offers monthly informal roundtable meetings, in order to provide an opportunity to discuss legal and policy updates, recent litigation, and/or other practice issues. Meetings take place over Zoom and are open to all members. Please contact Mikayla Unruh or Rachel Amspoker for a link to a meeting. Please save the dates for our upcoming roundtables:
  • Friday, March 15, 2024: 12-1 p.m.
  • Friday, April 12, 2024: 12-1 p.m.
  • Friday, May 10, 2024: 12-1 p.m.
  • Friday, June 14, 2024: 12-1 p.m.

CCSBA Meetings

For more information on past agendas for CCSBA meetings, please contact the CASB Legal Department.


CCSBA 2023-2024 Officers

Chair: Phil Spare, Adams 12 Five Star Schools
Vice Chair: Samantha Jones-Rogers, Caplan & Earnest
Second Vice Chair: Nathan Fall, Greeley-Evans School District 6

Legislative Liaisons to CASB Legislative Resolutions Committee

Cindy Dude, Anderson, Dude & Lebel, P.C.
Chris Esser, Littleton Public Schools
Nathan Fall, Greeley-Evans School District 6
Adele Reester, Lyons Gaddis
Brandon Shaffer, St. Vrain Valley RE-1J
Samantha Jones-Rogers, Caplan & Earnest