Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

In December 2015, President Obama signed into law the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). The new law reauthorizes the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA). State waivers under the previous ESEA will remain in place until Aug. 1, 2016, and the 2016-17 school year will be a period of transition. ESSA will be fully in place beginning in the 2017-18 school year.

Additional information will be provided as CASB develops tools and resources to understand ESSA and the upcoming federal regulation process.


Colorado Association of School Boards

Colorado Department of Education

National School Boards Association

U.S. Department of Education