About the CASB Board of Directors

CASB is governed by a 23-member board comprised of elected and appointed members of boards of education from across the state, representing CASB’s 12 geographic regions.

CASB board members are elected each year at CASB’s Annual Convention and serve three-year terms. In addition, anyone in Colorado who serves as a member of the NSBA Board of Directors also serves on the CASB Board in an at-large position. The State Board of Education is also invited to designate one of its members on an annual basis to serve as a liaison to the CASB Board of Directors.

The 23-member board of directors is divided among the CASB regions as follows:


Number of Directors

Region 1 One
Region 2 One
Region 3 One
Region 4 Three
Region 5 Three 
Region 6 Three
Region 7 One
Region 8 One
Region 9 One
Region 10 One
Region 11 One
Region 12 One
Large District* Four


*Colorado’s large districts that hold active membership in the Association are entitled to elect four directors to the CASB board. Those school districts are Adams 12 Five Star Schools, Aurora Public Schools, Cherry Creek Schools, Denver Public Schools, Douglas County RE-1, and Jeffco Public Schools.