Colorado Association of School Boards













Contact







Publications \

5

Return to Headlines

Legislative Update, Nov. 10, 2016



Colorado stays the course

If you are a fan of classic rock 'n' roll, you have probably heard "The Song Remains the Same" by Led Zepplin. Turns out, that song title is a pretty good summation of what happened with the 2016 election in Colorado.

Pretty much everything remained the same.

Coloradoans are sending our congressional delegation back to Washington, D.C., unchanged. The Colorado House will be led again by Democrats and the Senate will stay under Republican control. House Democrats extended their majority by three seats (37-28), while Senate Republicans were able to maintain their one-seat majority (18-17). **Gov. John Hicklenlooper** will finish the remaining two years of his governorship with a split General Assembly and many big issues to address.

There will be some new faces in the leadership of both the House of Representatives and Senate, however. Both caucuses met today to elect leadership and fill seats on the Joint Budget Committee. The House will be led by **Rep. Crisanta Duran** (D) and **Sen. Kevin Grantham** (R) will head up the work in the Senate.

Now is a great time for you to contact your elected officials and discuss issues you'd like them to address during the 2017 General Assembly. This is especially true if you are represented by one of the legislative leaders listed below.

Colorado House of Representatives

Speaker of the House

Majority Leader

Rep. Crisanta Duran
D, House District 5 (Denver)
Rep. K.C. Becker

D, House District 13 (Boulder)

Assistant Majority Leader

Majority Caucus Chair

Assistant Majority Caucus Chair

Majority Whip

Majority Deputy Whip

Minority Leader

Assistant Minority Leader

Minority Caucus Chair

Minority Whip

Rep. Alec Garnett

D, House District 2 (Denver)

Rep. Daneya Esgar

D, House District 46 (Pueblo)

Rep. Jennifer Arndt

D, House District 53 (Fort Collins)

Rep. Brittany Petterson

D, House District 28 (Lakewood)

Rep. Javon Melton

D, House District 41 (Aurora)

Rep. Patrick Neville

R, House District 45 (Castle Rock)

Rep. Cole Wist

R, House District 37 (Centennial)

Rep. Lori Saine

R, House District 63 (Firestone)

Rep. Perry Buck

R, House District 49 (Windsor)

Colorado Senate

Majority Caucus Chair

Senate Majority Whip

Assistant Minority Leader

Minority Caucus Chair

Minority Whip

President of the Senate Sen. Kevin Grantham

R, Senate District 2 (Canon City)
President Pro-Tem

Sen. Jerry Sonnenbera

Sen. Jerry Sonnenberg R, Senate District 1 (Sterling)

Majority Leader Sen. Chris Holbert

R, Senate District 30 (Parker)

Assistant Majority Leader Sen. Ray Scott

R, Senate District 7 (Grand Junction)

Sen. Vicki Marble

R, Senate District 23 (Fort Collins)

Sen. John Cooke

R, Senate District 13 (Greeley)

Minority Leader Sen. Alicia Guzman

D, Senate District 34 (Denver)

Sen. Leroy Garcia

D, Senate District 3 (Pueblo)

Sen. Michael Merrifield

D, Senate District 11 (Colorado Springs)

Sen. Lois Court

D, Senate District 31 (Denver)

Joint Budget Committee

Rep. Millie Hamner, D, House District 61 (Dillon)

Sen. Kent Lambert, R, Senate District 9 (Colorado Springs)

Sen. Kevin Lundberg, R, Senate District 15 (Berthoud)*

Sen. Dominick Moreno, D, Senate District 21 (Commerce City)*

Rep. Bob Rankin, R, House District 57 (Carbondale)

Rep. Dave Young, D, House District 50 (Greeley)

*- New to the Joint Budget Committee

Address Colorado Association of School Boards

2253 S. Oneida St., Ste. 300

Denver, CO 80224

Phone

303-832-1000 or 800-530-8430

Fax 303-832-1086

Advancing excellence in public education through effective leadership by locally elected boards of education.

Site Map

Terms of Use Questions or Feedback? Blackboard Web Community Manager Privacy Policy (Updated)

Copyright © 2002-2019 Blackboard, Inc. All rights reserved.